Minutes – April 10, 2010

Greater Houston Chapter of National Association of Teachers of Singing www.ghnats.org, Spring Business Meeting Saturday, April 10, 2010, University of Houston, 1:00 p.m.

President Marion Russell Dickson called the meeting to order at 1:28 p.m. President Dickson acknowledged the board that has served for the past year. The minutes of the last business meeting, held October 11, were presented. Charles Stanton moved the minutes be accepted as read. David Sloat seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Secretary Debra Greschner reported the Chapter currently has 52 members. She reminded members that renewals can now be complete on line at the Chapter website. If members chose to pay by check rather than PayPal, please complete a renewal form on line so the Chapter has updated contact information.

Treasurer Jason Lester presented the financial report. The Chapter is charged a bank fees totally $14.00 per month. The Chapter will investigate accounts with no fees.

Charles Stanton, Vice-President for Workshops, reported on the workshops for the Chapter. Immediately preceding the meeting, Buck Ross, Opera Director at the University of Houston, made a presentation with the subject of gestures for the stage. Next Saturday, April 17, Dr. Carol Kimball and Dr. Arlene Shrut will present master classes on, respectively, mélodie and Mozart arias. On-line nominations for students to participate are available at the Chapter website. The deadline is Sunday, April 11.

Elisa Thompson, Vice-President of Classical Auditions, reported that today’s event includes 183 students and 33 teachers.

The Music Theatre Auditions are scheduled for May 1, 2010. Registration closed on Friday, April 9.

Membership Liaison Jody Haas urged members to renew online, and to encourage other teachers to become a NATS member.

In Old Business, President Dickson raised the issue of the College Vocal Music Fair. The event was not held in 2009, but there is interest in holding it in 2010. The website now contains a Bulletin Board which was created to display performances, publications, and other activities of the Chapter members. If members want to post their bios and headshots on the website, please forward them to marionrusselldickson@yahoo.com.

In New Business, President Dickson welcomed the Guest Judges for the Classical Auditions: Joseph Evans, Bruce Fowler, Nicole Franklin, Scott LaGraff, Todd Miller, and Melanie Sonnenberg. She acknowledged the Nomination Committee which was chaired by David Sloat and consisted of Paul Busselberg, Isabelle Ganz, Frankie Kickman, Beverly Laubach, and Sharon Radionoff.

Nomination Chair David Sloat presented the slate of officers recommended for 2010-2012:

  • President – Jason Lester
  • Vice-President for Classical Auditions – Angela Pickering
  • Vice-President Musical Theatre Auditions – Deanna Peden
  • Vice-President for Workshops – Charles Stanton (2nd term)
  • Vice-Presidents for College Vocal Music Fair – Kerry Jennings and Paul Busselberg
  • Secretary – Debra Greschner (2nd term)
  • Treasurer – Melissa Givens
  • Membership Liaison – Jody Haas (2nd term)
  • Past President Ex-Oficio – Marion Russell Dickson

Todd Miller made a motion to accept the slate of officers as presented. Stephen Morris seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Debra Greschner made a motion to add the office of Membership Liaison to the By-laws. This officer contacts new members at the National Level and invites them to join the Chapter, as well as helping Chapter Secretary to check roster to ensure that national dues are paid. Bob Collett seconded. Motion carried.

David Sloat made a motion that the By-laws by amended to postpone installation of the Vice-President of Musical Theatre Auditions until after the event. Isabelle Ganz seconded. Motion carried.

President Dickson announced that the 2010 Texoma Conference is scheduled for November 3 -6 at Hardin Simmons University in Abilene. Information is available at www.texomanats.org. Debra Greschner encouraged members to attend the National Conference in Salt Lake City July 2-6, 2010. President Dickson acknowledged Jason Lester and Charles Stanton who have been chosen as interns for the NATS Internship Program to be held in June.

Melissa Givens made a motion to adjourn. Charles Stanton seconded. Motion carried. Meeting was adjourned at 1:59 p.m.

Respectfully submitted

Debra Greschner
Secretary, Greater Houston Chapter
National Association of Teachers of Singing