Minutes – April 9, 2011

Greater Houston Chapter of National Association of Teachers of Singing
www.ghnats.org, Spring Business Meeting, Saturday, April 9, 2011, University of Houston
12:00 p.m.

President Jason Lester called the meeting to order at 12:06 p.m. He welcomed new members Shannon Langman, Doug Henshaw; Karen Cramden, and Christy Compson, and returning member Lucy Hargis. He also welcomed four guest judges: Chad Shelton, Angela Haas, Heather Orr, and Cynthia Clayton. Nicole Kenley, Outside Judge Selection Chair, introduced five members who are serving as judges: Jeannette Chase, Melanie Sonnenberg, Frances Fenton, Gottfried Schiller, and Todd Miller.

President Lester introduced the members of the Board. He called upon Debra Greschner, Secretary, to present the minutes of the Fall Business meeting. Melissa Givens made a motion to accept the minutes as read; Russell Dickson seonded. Motion carried.

Vice-President of Workshops, Charles Stanton, reminded members to attend the session immediately following the meeting featuring Ana Maria Martinez, soprano. He also reported that the Chapter has been approved for discretionary funds from the National Office. The funds must be matched by the chapter, and can be used for workshops.

Vice-President of Classical Auditions, Angela Pickering, thanked the hospitality chairs, Ann Heath Welch, Gottfried Schiller, Frances Fenton, Marion Russell Dickson, and Charles Stanton. Next year’s auditions have been tentatively scheduled for Saturday, March 31, 2012; Pickering reported that she planned to revise the entrance forms in an effort to clarify repertoire requirements. She also announced the judging assignments and locations for the finals.

Vice-President of Musical Theatre Auditions, Beverly Laubach, reminded members that the Musical Theatre Auditions are scheduled for Saturday, May 7, 2011 at St. Luke’s Methodist Church. The entry deadline is April 15. Repertoire requirements are the same as last year. Laubach also announced a recital given by Jamie Barton on Sunday, May 14, 2011 at St. Luke’s Methodist.

Secretary Debra Greschner reminded members that renewal of chapter memberships includes both completion of the renewal form and payment of chapter dues. These are available online.

Vice-Presidents of College Vocal Music Fair, Paul Busselberg and Kerry Jennings, reported that this year’s event, held on Saturday, October 16, 2010 at San Jacinto College, drew representatives from eight colleges, in addition to the host school. The visiting colleges were impressed by the activities of the Greater Houston NATS Chapter.

Treasurer Melissa Givens reported that the Chapter is in the process of changing banks because the Chase Bank, with which the Chapter currently banks, charges a monthly fee of $12.00.

In New Business, President Lester announced that he will update the members’ email contact information on the website. The Chapter now has a post office box as a permanent mailing address. It is P.O. Box 540722, Houston, TX 77254.

He also stated that the Board had discussed assigning the Vice-President of Workshops the responsibility of contacting and securing clinicians and guest judges. The Board, however, must approve the budget for all paid judges and clinicians. Lester made a motion to assign the aforementioned duties to the Vice-President of Workshops; Francis Fenton seconded. Motion passed.

The Texoma Regional Conference is scheduled for early November at Oklahoma Baptist in 2011, Baylor in 2012, and North Texas in 2013. It has been suggested that the Chapter allocate funds to pay a pianist to play for the Winners’ Recital. Discussion will continue on the topic. Finally, Lester announced that a member survey is to be sent out in the next ten days; the online survey will close after the Musical Theatre Auditions. Lester posed the question: why are we members of NATS.

Marion Russell Dickson moved the meeting adjourn; Isabelle Ganz seconded. Motion carried. The meeting was adjourned at 12:53 p.m.

Respectfully submitted
Debra Greschner
Secretary, Greater Houston Chapter
National Association of Teachers of Singing