Minutes – October 25, 2008

Greater Houston Chapter of NATS Minutes from Saturday, October 25, 2008, The Tasting Room, River Oaks Centre 2409 West Alabama Street, Houston, TX 77098 6:30 p.m.

President Marion Russell Dickson called the meeting to order at 7:05 p.m. President Dickson asked the attendees to introduce themselves. She also introduced Board Members who were present, including Elisa Thompson, Vice-President Classical Auditions; Robin Cobb and Jody Haas, Co-Vice-Presidents of College Vocal Music Fair; Jason Lester, Newsletter Chair; Debra Greschner, Secretary; and Angela Pickering, Winner’s Recital Chair. The President also introduced Juli Wood, District Governor.

The minutes from the Spring Business that was held March 29, 2008 were presented. Elisa Thompson made a motion to accept the minutes; Angela Pickering seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Marion Russell Dickson presented the Treasurer’s Report for Dawn Padula, who was unable to attend. The current balance is $4,122.62.

In committee reports, Co-Vice-Presidents Robin Cobb and Jody Haas reported a successful College Vocal Music Fair, despite the many high schools that rescheduled All-State auditions due to Hurricane Ike. They asked members for input about the event. In regard to Workshops, Marion Russell Dickson initiated a discussion about possible formats and topics. Suggestions from the membership included linking it with other entities, or holding a regional workshop in the summer. Vice-President of Classical Auditions Elisa Thompson reminded members that the Classical Auditions are scheduled for March 28 at the University of Houston. The growth in these auditions has been consistently steady; the number of participants has increased by approximately 20% each year. Elisa would like to see more colleges and universities in the area send students, and to have all the entries and fee payments be sent via email. The money saved on mailing costs is substantial. Elisa will serve as tabulation officer for the auditions. Nicole Franklin is in charge of hospitality for the event. Jason Lester suggested that each member make an effort to encourage faculty from each school in the area to attend. The Music Theatre auditions are scheduled for May 2.

In Old Business, the new web site has been developed by Discover Web Solutions, LLC. The website address is www.ghnats.org.

Members are asked to send updated biographies and headshot to Marion, via email, at marionrusselldickson@yahoo.com. There have been two bylaw changes. The first is the adoption of a late fee of $10.00 for membership dues received after October 15. The second is the addition of two officers to the Executive Board: co-chair College Vocal Music Fair Vice-Presidents, and Vice-President of Music Theatre Auditions. In addition, the Past President will remain on the board in an Ex-officio capacity. After a discussion regarding the payment dues, Angela Pickering made a motion that the deadline be moved to the October business meeting. Sharon Radionoff seconded the motion. Motion carried.

In New Business, Marion Russell Dickson congratulated the members from the Chapter who were presenters at the NATS Annual Conference in Nashville. Donna Hinds Sawyers and Laurie Lee Cosby presented a session, and Dawn Padula was selected for a poster presentation. Thirty Texoma members attended the conference. Congratulations to NATSSA Second Place Winner Laurie Lester and Shannon Hesse, her collaborative artist. Lester and Hesse will present a recital at the Texoma Regional Workshop in November. Sharon Radionoff will also be a presenter at the Texoma Workshop. In other New Business, Marion Russell Dickson raised the possibility of creating new positions within the chapter, such as New Member Liaison and Historian. Suggestions from the floor included a list of pianists to be distributed to the Chapter members, and an effort to recruit Associate Members. District Governor Juli Wood announced nominations for NATS Texas Governor. Sharon Radionoff announced the publication of her new book The Vocal Instrument.

Jody Haas made a motion to adjourn. Judy Boyter seconded the motion. Motion carried. The meeting was adjourned at 8:25 p.m.

Respectfully submitted by
Debra Greschner, Secretary